My Home Town is Awesomer Than Yours

May 18, 2008 at 1:14 am (Uncategorized)

One of the most badass flowers in our garden.

H’ok, seeing as it’s going to be a LONG TIME until I get my host family (emphasis on ‘long time’ a grace de my AA). I thought it’d be nice to post some “Before” pictures. I have all the ones of solid things, like my house and school, on Yen’s camera, but I have no cord to upload those pictures. So, this looks like another Post-In-Progress (why do I have a feeling this is going to be a trend?)

My house in Chico, CA

My house in Chico, CA

Anyway, about my home in the USA. I live in a semi-small town in Northern California that’s nestled between the Sierras and Cascades. Nope, no surfing, no Hollywood, just a slew of old Hippies, some la vie Boheme college students townies, and wannabe back root farmers. I have to say, I’ve been around most of this country, and this town’s certainly up in the “little slice of heaven” category. It takes some getting used to, but it really grows on you. Everyone’s very chill. Too chill maybe, but that can be attributed to the pot smell that saturates the air in the evening.

My school’s pretty neat I suppose. The campus looks like a run-down penitentiary (like every school here) but when you look past all of the grime and lack of hallways/air conditioning/heat, it’s one of the best public schools in the state. Best sports in the region, academically distinguished, wonderful teachers, great inter-student relations (again, thank you marijuana). Seriously, everyone hates us. You prolly hate us by now.

My view between classes

I have to say one thing about going on exchange, it certainly opens you up back home. As soon as someone hears I’m going to China, they immediately have a direct interest in everything about me. Seriously, classmates who I’ve known for 3 years are like “Wow, that’s awesome. Are you going to buy fake Prada?”, the computer competencies librarian gave me her address for postcards, and a boy I’ve never spoken to before just told me to shop in Beijing for pajamas, because they’re the best in the world. As a fairly reclusive kid, it’s been a really nice way for me to learn to warm up to strangers. When the earthquake hit earlier this week, I had so many people tell me they were worried for me, and wondered if I knew if my host family was ok. It was sweet, really.

Well, I was going to add pictures of the important people, but my computer’s being a Mac (xP) so I’ll have to do a mass picture update later.

Leave a comment